All new accounts created on Gitlab now require administrator approval. If you invite any collaborators, please let Flux staff know so they can approve the accounts.

Commit 66ee95d1 authored by Steve Capper's avatar Steve Capper Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: exclude HugeTLB pages from THP page_mapped() logic

HugeTLB pages cannot be split, so we use the compound_mapcount to track
rmaps.

Currently page_mapped() will check the compound_mapcount, but will also
go through the constituent pages of a THP compound page and query the
individual _mapcount's too.

Unfortunately, page_mapped() does not distinguish between HugeTLB and
THP compound pages and assumes that a compound page always needs to have
HPAGE_PMD_NR pages querying.

For most cases when dealing with HugeTLB this is just inefficient, but
for scenarios where the HugeTLB page size is less than the pmd block
size (e.g.  when using contiguous bit on ARM) this can lead to crashes.

This patch adjusts the page_mapped function such that we skip the
unnecessary THP reference checks for HugeTLB pages.

Fixes: e1534ae9 ("mm: differentiate page_mapped() from page_mapcount() for compound pages")
Signed-off-by: default avatarSteve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
Acked-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent d7f53518
......@@ -1031,6 +1031,8 @@ static inline bool page_mapped(struct page *page)
page = compound_head(page);
if (atomic_read(compound_mapcount_ptr(page)) >= 0)
return true;
if (PageHuge(page))
return false;
for (i = 0; i < hpage_nr_pages(page); i++) {
if (atomic_read(&page[i]._mapcount) >= 0)
return true;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment