Commit 66b16edf authored by Tang Chen's avatar Tang Chen Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

memblock, mem_hotplug: introduce MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG flag to mark hotpluggable regions



In find_hotpluggable_memory, once we find out a memory region which is
hotpluggable, we want to mark them in memblock.memory.  So that we could
control memblock allocator not to allocte hotpluggable memory for the
kernel later.

To achieve this goal, we introduce MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG flag to indicate the
hotpluggable memory regions in memblock and a function
memblock_mark_hotplug() to mark hotpluggable memory if we find one.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Signed-off-by: default avatarTang Chen <tangchen@cn.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarZhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Chen Tang <imtangchen@gmail.com>
Cc: Gong Chen <gong.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Liu Jiang <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Taku Izumi <izumi.taku@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Thomas Renninger <trenn@suse.de>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: Vasilis Liaskovitis <vasilis.liaskovitis@profitbricks.com>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Wen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 66a20757
......@@ -19,6 +19,9 @@
#define INIT_MEMBLOCK_REGIONS 128
/* Definition of memblock flags. */
#define MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG 0x1 /* hotpluggable region */
struct memblock_region {
phys_addr_t base;
phys_addr_t size;
......@@ -60,6 +63,8 @@ int memblock_remove(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size);
int memblock_free(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size);
int memblock_reserve(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size);
void memblock_trim_memory(phys_addr_t align);
int memblock_mark_hotplug(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size);
int memblock_clear_hotplug(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size);
#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP
int memblock_search_pfn_nid(unsigned long pfn, unsigned long *start_pfn,
......@@ -122,6 +127,18 @@ void __next_free_mem_range_rev(u64 *idx, int nid, phys_addr_t *out_start,
i != (u64)ULLONG_MAX; \
__next_free_mem_range_rev(&i, nid, p_start, p_end, p_nid))
static inline void memblock_set_region_flags(struct memblock_region *r,
unsigned long flags)
{
r->flags |= flags;
}
static inline void memblock_clear_region_flags(struct memblock_region *r,
unsigned long flags)
{
r->flags &= ~flags;
}
#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP
int memblock_set_node(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size, int nid);
......
......@@ -682,6 +682,59 @@ int __init_memblock memblock_reserve(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size)
return memblock_reserve_region(base, size, MAX_NUMNODES, 0);
}
/**
* memblock_mark_hotplug - Mark hotpluggable memory with flag MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG.
* @base: the base phys addr of the region
* @size: the size of the region
*
* This function isolates region [@base, @base + @size), and mark it with flag
* MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG.
*
* Return 0 on succees, -errno on failure.
*/
int __init_memblock memblock_mark_hotplug(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size)
{
struct memblock_type *type = &memblock.memory;
int i, ret, start_rgn, end_rgn;
ret = memblock_isolate_range(type, base, size, &start_rgn, &end_rgn);
if (ret)
return ret;
for (i = start_rgn; i < end_rgn; i++)
memblock_set_region_flags(&type->regions[i], MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG);
memblock_merge_regions(type);
return 0;
}
/**
* memblock_clear_hotplug - Clear flag MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG for a specified region.
* @base: the base phys addr of the region
* @size: the size of the region
*
* This function isolates region [@base, @base + @size), and clear flag
* MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG for the isolated regions.
*
* Return 0 on succees, -errno on failure.
*/
int __init_memblock memblock_clear_hotplug(phys_addr_t base, phys_addr_t size)
{
struct memblock_type *type = &memblock.memory;
int i, ret, start_rgn, end_rgn;
ret = memblock_isolate_range(type, base, size, &start_rgn, &end_rgn);
if (ret)
return ret;
for (i = start_rgn; i < end_rgn; i++)
memblock_clear_region_flags(&type->regions[i],
MEMBLOCK_HOTPLUG);
memblock_merge_regions(type);
return 0;
}
/**
* __next_free_mem_range - next function for for_each_free_mem_range()
* @idx: pointer to u64 loop variable
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment