Commit 55f841ce authored by Glauber Costa's avatar Glauber Costa Committed by Al Viro

super: fix calculation of shrinkable objects for small numbers

The sysctl knob sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure is used to determine which
percentage of the shrinkable objects in our cache we should actively try
to shrink.

It works great in situations in which we have many objects (at least more
than 100), because the aproximation errors will be negligible.  But if
this is not the case, specially when total_objects < 100, we may end up
concluding that we have no objects at all (total / 100 = 0, if total <
100).

This is certainly not the biggest killer in the world, but may matter in
very low kernel memory situations.
Signed-off-by: default avatarGlauber Costa <glommer@openvz.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatarCarlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarKAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arve Hjønnevåg <arve@android.com>
Cc: Carlos Maiolino <cmaiolino@redhat.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: J. Bruce Fields <bfields@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
parent 3942c07c
......@@ -1462,7 +1462,7 @@ static int gfs2_shrink_glock_memory(struct shrinker *shrink,
gfs2_scan_glock_lru(sc->nr_to_scan);
}
return (atomic_read(&lru_count) / 100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(atomic_read(&lru_count));
}
static struct shrinker glock_shrinker = {
......
......@@ -114,7 +114,7 @@ int gfs2_shrink_qd_memory(struct shrinker *shrink, struct shrink_control *sc)
spin_unlock(&qd_lru_lock);
out:
return (atomic_read(&qd_lru_count) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure) / 100;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(atomic_read(&qd_lru_count));
}
static u64 qd2index(struct gfs2_quota_data *qd)
......
......@@ -189,7 +189,7 @@ mb_cache_shrink_fn(struct shrinker *shrink, struct shrink_control *sc)
list_for_each_entry_safe(entry, tmp, &free_list, e_lru_list) {
__mb_cache_entry_forget(entry, gfp_mask);
}
return (count / 100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(count);
}
......
......@@ -2046,7 +2046,7 @@ remove_lru_entry:
}
spin_unlock(&nfs_access_lru_lock);
nfs_access_free_list(&head);
return (atomic_long_read(&nfs_access_nr_entries) / 100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(atomic_long_read(&nfs_access_nr_entries));
}
static void __nfs_access_zap_cache(struct nfs_inode *nfsi, struct list_head *head)
......
......@@ -719,9 +719,8 @@ static int shrink_dqcache_memory(struct shrinker *shrink,
prune_dqcache(nr);
spin_unlock(&dq_list_lock);
}
return ((unsigned)
percpu_counter_read_positive(&dqstats.counter[DQST_FREE_DQUOTS])
/100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(
percpu_counter_read_positive(&dqstats.counter[DQST_FREE_DQUOTS]));
}
static struct shrinker dqcache_shrinker = {
......
......@@ -82,13 +82,13 @@ static int prune_super(struct shrinker *shrink, struct shrink_control *sc)
int inodes;
/* proportion the scan between the caches */
dentries = (sc->nr_to_scan * sb->s_nr_dentry_unused) /
total_objects;
inodes = (sc->nr_to_scan * sb->s_nr_inodes_unused) /
total_objects;
dentries = mult_frac(sc->nr_to_scan, sb->s_nr_dentry_unused,
total_objects);
inodes = mult_frac(sc->nr_to_scan, sb->s_nr_inodes_unused,
total_objects);
if (fs_objects)
fs_objects = (sc->nr_to_scan * fs_objects) /
total_objects;
fs_objects = mult_frac(sc->nr_to_scan, fs_objects,
total_objects);
/*
* prune the dcache first as the icache is pinned by it, then
* prune the icache, followed by the filesystem specific caches
......@@ -104,7 +104,7 @@ static int prune_super(struct shrinker *shrink, struct shrink_control *sc)
sb->s_nr_inodes_unused + fs_objects;
}
total_objects = (total_objects / 100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
total_objects = vfs_pressure_ratio(total_objects);
drop_super(sb);
return total_objects;
}
......
......@@ -1722,7 +1722,7 @@ xfs_qm_shake(
}
out:
return (qi->qi_lru_count / 100) * sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
return vfs_pressure_ratio(qi->qi_lru_count);
}
/*
......
......@@ -395,4 +395,8 @@ static inline bool d_mountpoint(const struct dentry *dentry)
extern int sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure;
static inline unsigned long vfs_pressure_ratio(unsigned long val)
{
return mult_frac(val, sysctl_vfs_cache_pressure, 100);
}
#endif /* __LINUX_DCACHE_H */
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment