Commit 4b6e1e37 authored by Konstantin Khlebnikov's avatar Konstantin Khlebnikov Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: kill vma flag VM_INSERTPAGE

Merge VM_INSERTPAGE into VM_MIXEDMAP.  VM_MIXEDMAP VMA can mix pure-pfn
ptes, special ptes and normal ptes.

Now copy_page_range() always copies VM_MIXEDMAP VMA on fork like
VM_PFNMAP.  If driver populates whole VMA at mmap() it probably not
expects page-faults.

This patch removes special check from vma_wants_writenotify() which
disables pages write tracking for VMA populated via vm_instert_page().
BDI below mapped file should not use dirty-accounting, moreover
do_wp_page() can handle this.

vm_insert_page() still marks vma after first usage.  Usually it is called
from f_op->mmap() handler under mm->mmap_sem write-lock, so it able to
change vma->vm_flags.  Caller must set VM_MIXEDMAP at mmap time if it
wants to call this function from other places, for example from page-fault
handler.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp>
Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>
Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com>
Acked-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent cc2383ec
......@@ -103,7 +103,6 @@ extern unsigned int kobjsize(const void *objp);
#define VM_HUGETLB 0x00400000 /* Huge TLB Page VM */
#define VM_NONLINEAR 0x00800000 /* Is non-linear (remap_file_pages) */
#define VM_ARCH_1 0x01000000 /* Architecture-specific flag */
#define VM_INSERTPAGE 0x02000000 /* The vma has had "vm_insert_page()" done on it */
#define VM_NODUMP 0x04000000 /* Do not include in the core dump */
#define VM_CAN_NONLINEAR 0x08000000 /* Has ->fault & does nonlinear pages */
......
......@@ -1491,8 +1491,7 @@ out:
return ret;
}
#define VM_NO_THP (VM_SPECIAL|VM_INSERTPAGE|VM_MIXEDMAP| \
VM_HUGETLB|VM_SHARED|VM_MAYSHARE)
#define VM_NO_THP (VM_SPECIAL|VM_MIXEDMAP|VM_HUGETLB|VM_SHARED|VM_MAYSHARE)
int hugepage_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
unsigned long *vm_flags, int advice)
......
......@@ -1469,7 +1469,7 @@ int ksm_madvise(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long start,
*/
if (*vm_flags & (VM_MERGEABLE | VM_SHARED | VM_MAYSHARE |
VM_PFNMAP | VM_IO | VM_DONTEXPAND |
VM_RESERVED | VM_HUGETLB | VM_INSERTPAGE |
VM_RESERVED | VM_HUGETLB |
VM_NONLINEAR | VM_MIXEDMAP))
return 0; /* just ignore the advice */
......
......@@ -1047,7 +1047,8 @@ int copy_page_range(struct mm_struct *dst_mm, struct mm_struct *src_mm,
* readonly mappings. The tradeoff is that copy_page_range is more
* efficient than faulting.
*/
if (!(vma->vm_flags & (VM_HUGETLB|VM_NONLINEAR|VM_PFNMAP|VM_INSERTPAGE))) {
if (!(vma->vm_flags & (VM_HUGETLB | VM_NONLINEAR |
VM_PFNMAP | VM_MIXEDMAP))) {
if (!vma->anon_vma)
return 0;
}
......@@ -2085,6 +2086,11 @@ out:
* ask for a shared writable mapping!
*
* The page does not need to be reserved.
*
* Usually this function is called from f_op->mmap() handler
* under mm->mmap_sem write-lock, so it can change vma->vm_flags.
* Caller must set VM_MIXEDMAP on vma if it wants to call this
* function from other places, for example from page-fault handler.
*/
int vm_insert_page(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
struct page *page)
......@@ -2093,7 +2099,11 @@ int vm_insert_page(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
return -EFAULT;
if (!page_count(page))
return -EINVAL;
vma->vm_flags |= VM_INSERTPAGE;
if (!(vma->vm_flags & VM_MIXEDMAP)) {
BUG_ON(down_read_trylock(&vma->vm_mm->mmap_sem));
BUG_ON(vma->vm_flags & VM_PFNMAP);
vma->vm_flags |= VM_MIXEDMAP;
}
return insert_page(vma, addr, page, vma->vm_page_prot);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(vm_insert_page);
......
......@@ -1190,7 +1190,7 @@ int vma_wants_writenotify(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
return 0;
/* Specialty mapping? */
if (vm_flags & (VM_PFNMAP|VM_INSERTPAGE))
if (vm_flags & VM_PFNMAP)
return 0;
/* Can the mapping track the dirty pages? */
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment