Commit 1965c8b7 authored by Kirill A. Shutemov's avatar Kirill A. Shutemov Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: use 'unsigned int' for compound_dtor/compound_order on 64BIT

On 64 bit system we have enough space in struct page to encode
compound_dtor and compound_order with unsigned int.

On x86-64 it leads to slightly smaller code size due usesage of plain
MOV instead of MOVZX (zero-extended move) or similar effect.

allyesconfig:

   text	   data	    bss	    dec	    hex	filename
159520446	48146736	72196096	279863278	10ae5fee	vmlinux.pre
159520382	48146736	72196096	279863214	10ae5fae	vmlinux.post

On other architectures without native support of 16-bit data types the
Signed-off-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarAndrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent d00181b9
......@@ -143,8 +143,19 @@ struct page {
unsigned long compound_head; /* If bit zero is set */
/* First tail page only */
#ifdef CONFIG_64BIT
/*
* On 64 bit system we have enough space in struct page
* to encode compound_dtor and compound_order with
* unsigned int. It can help compiler generate better or
* smaller code on some archtectures.
*/
unsigned int compound_dtor;
unsigned int compound_order;
#else
unsigned short int compound_dtor;
unsigned short int compound_order;
#endif
};
#if defined(CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE) && USE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCKS
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment