Commit 15e32524 authored by Stephen Rothwell's avatar Stephen Rothwell Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

fbdev: work around old compiler bug

When building with a 4.1.x compiler on powerpc64 (at least) we get this
error:

drivers/video/logo/logo_linux_mono.c:81: error: logo_linux_mono causes a section type conflict

This was introduced by commit ae52bb23


("fbdev: move logo externs to header file").  This is a partial revert of
that commit sufficient to not hit the compiler bug.

Also convert _clut arrays from __initconst to __initdata.

Sam said:

  Al analysed this some time ago.  When we say something is const then
  _sometimes_ gcc annotate the section as const(?) - sometimes not.  So if
  we have two variables/functions annotated __*const and gcc decides to
  annotate the section const only in one case we get a section type
  conflict.
Signed-off-by: default avatarStephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Krzysztof Helt <krzysztof.h1@poczta.fm>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <Geert.Uytterhoeven@sonycom.com>
Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent c15e504b
......@@ -237,7 +237,7 @@ static void write_header(void)
fprintf(out, " * Linux logo %s\n", logoname);
fputs(" */\n\n", out);
fputs("#include <linux/linux_logo.h>\n\n", out);
fprintf(out, "static const unsigned char %s_data[] __initconst = {\n",
fprintf(out, "static unsigned char %s_data[] __initdata = {\n",
logoname);
}
......@@ -374,7 +374,7 @@ static void write_logo_clut224(void)
fputs("\n};\n\n", out);
/* write logo clut */
fprintf(out, "static const unsigned char %s_clut[] __initconst = {\n",
fprintf(out, "static unsigned char %s_clut[] __initdata = {\n",
logoname);
write_hex_cnt = 0;
for (i = 0; i < logo_clutsize; i++) {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment