Commit 1570f0d7 authored by Mark Salter's avatar Mark Salter Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

arm64: support initrd outside kernel linear map



The use of mem= could leave part or all of the initrd outside of the
kernel linear map.  This will lead to an error when unpacking the initrd
and a probable failure to boot.  This patch catches that situation and
relocates the initrd to be fully within the linear map.
Signed-off-by: default avatarMark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 6b0f68e3
......@@ -339,6 +339,67 @@ static void __init request_standard_resources(void)
}
}
#ifdef CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD
/*
* Relocate initrd if it is not completely within the linear mapping.
* This would be the case if mem= cuts out all or part of it.
*/
static void __init relocate_initrd(void)
{
phys_addr_t orig_start = __virt_to_phys(initrd_start);
phys_addr_t orig_end = __virt_to_phys(initrd_end);
phys_addr_t ram_end = memblock_end_of_DRAM();
phys_addr_t new_start;
unsigned long size, to_free = 0;
void *dest;
if (orig_end <= ram_end)
return;
/*
* Any of the original initrd which overlaps the linear map should
* be freed after relocating.
*/
if (orig_start < ram_end)
to_free = ram_end - orig_start;
size = orig_end - orig_start;
/* initrd needs to be relocated completely inside linear mapping */
new_start = memblock_find_in_range(0, PFN_PHYS(max_pfn),
size, PAGE_SIZE);
if (!new_start)
panic("Cannot relocate initrd of size %ld\n", size);
memblock_reserve(new_start, size);
initrd_start = __phys_to_virt(new_start);
initrd_end = initrd_start + size;
pr_info("Moving initrd from [%llx-%llx] to [%llx-%llx]\n",
orig_start, orig_start + size - 1,
new_start, new_start + size - 1);
dest = (void *)initrd_start;
if (to_free) {
memcpy(dest, (void *)__phys_to_virt(orig_start), to_free);
dest += to_free;
}
copy_from_early_mem(dest, orig_start + to_free, size - to_free);
if (to_free) {
pr_info("Freeing original RAMDISK from [%llx-%llx]\n",
orig_start, orig_start + to_free - 1);
memblock_free(orig_start, to_free);
}
}
#else
static inline void __init relocate_initrd(void)
{
}
#endif
u64 __cpu_logical_map[NR_CPUS] = { [0 ... NR_CPUS-1] = INVALID_HWID };
void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
......@@ -372,6 +433,7 @@ void __init setup_arch(char **cmdline_p)
acpi_boot_table_init();
paging_init();
relocate_initrd();
request_standard_resources();
early_ioremap_reset();
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment