Commit 11d16c25 authored by Johannes Weiner's avatar Johannes Weiner Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: vmscan: improve comment on low-page cache handling



Fix comment style and elaborate on why anonymous memory is force-scanned
when file cache runs low.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Satoru Moriya <satoru.moriya@hds.com>
Cc: Simon Jeons <simon.jeons@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 10316b31
......@@ -1713,13 +1713,15 @@ static void get_scan_count(struct lruvec *lruvec, struct scan_control *sc,
file = get_lru_size(lruvec, LRU_ACTIVE_FILE) +
get_lru_size(lruvec, LRU_INACTIVE_FILE);
/*
* If it's foreseeable that reclaiming the file cache won't be
* enough to get the zone back into a desirable shape, we have
* to swap. Better start now and leave the - probably heavily
* thrashing - remaining file pages alone.
*/
if (global_reclaim(sc)) {
free = zone_page_state(zone, NR_FREE_PAGES);
if (unlikely(file + free <= high_wmark_pages(zone))) {
/*
* If we have very few page cache pages, force-scan
* anon pages.
*/
fraction[0] = 1;
fraction[1] = 0;
denominator = 1;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment