Commit 103f6112 authored by Jan Beulich's avatar Jan Beulich Committed by Ingo Molnar

x86/mm/xen: Suppress hugetlbfs in PV guests

Huge pages are not normally available to PV guests. Not suppressing
hugetlbfs use results in an endless loop of page faults when user mode
code tries to access a hugetlbfs mapped area (since the hypervisor
denies such PTEs to be created, but error indications can't be
propagated out of xen_set_pte_at(), just like for various of its
siblings), and - once killed in an oops like this:

  kernel BUG at .../fs/hugetlbfs/inode.c:428!
  invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] SMP
  ...
  RIP: e030:[<ffffffff811c333b>]  [<ffffffff811c333b>] remove_inode_hugepages+0x25b/0x320
  ...
  Call Trace:
   [<ffffffff811c3415>] hugetlbfs_evict_inode+0x15/0x40
   [<ffffffff81167b3d>] evict+0xbd/0x1b0
   [<ffffffff8116514a>] __dentry_kill+0x19a/0x1f0
   [<ffffffff81165b0e>] dput+0x1fe/0x220
   [<ffffffff81150535>] __fput+0x155/0x200
   [<ffffffff81079fc0>] task_work_run+0x60/0xa0
   [<ffffffff81063510>] do_exit+0x160/0x400
   [<ffffffff810637eb>] do_group_exit+0x3b/0xa0
   [<ffffffff8106e8bd>] get_signal+0x1ed/0x470
   [<ffffffff8100f854>] do_signal+0x14/0x110
   [<ffffffff810030e9>] prepare_exit_to_usermode+0xe9/0xf0
   [<ffffffff814178a5>] retint_user+0x8/0x13

This is CVE-2016-3961 / XSA-174.
Reported-by: default avatarVitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarJan Beulich <jbeulich@suse.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <JGross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Cc: xen-devel <xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/57188ED802000078000E431C@prv-mh.provo.novell.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 78b0634d
......@@ -4,6 +4,7 @@
#include <asm/page.h>
#include <asm-generic/hugetlb.h>
#define hugepages_supported() cpu_has_pse
static inline int is_hugepage_only_range(struct mm_struct *mm,
unsigned long addr,
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment