Commit 09c231cb authored by Nathan Zimmer's avatar Nathan Zimmer Committed by Linus Torvalds

tmpfs: distribute interleave better across nodes

When tmpfs has the interleave memory policy, it always starts allocating
for each file from node 0 at offset 0.  When there are many small files,
the lower nodes fill up disproportionately.

This patch spreads out node usage by starting files at nodes other than 0,
by using the inode number to bias the starting node for interleave.
Signed-off-by: default avatarNathan Zimmer <nzimmer@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarHugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 6527af5d
......@@ -929,7 +929,8 @@ static struct page *shmem_swapin(swp_entry_t swap, gfp_t gfp,
/* Create a pseudo vma that just contains the policy */
pvma.vm_start = 0;
pvma.vm_pgoff = index;
/* Bias interleave by inode number to distribute better across nodes */
pvma.vm_pgoff = index + info->vfs_inode.i_ino;
pvma.vm_ops = NULL;
pvma.vm_policy = spol;
return swapin_readahead(swap, gfp, &pvma, 0);
......@@ -942,7 +943,8 @@ static struct page *shmem_alloc_page(gfp_t gfp,
/* Create a pseudo vma that just contains the policy */
pvma.vm_start = 0;
pvma.vm_pgoff = index;
/* Bias interleave by inode number to distribute better across nodes */
pvma.vm_pgoff = index + info->vfs_inode.i_ino;
pvma.vm_ops = NULL;
pvma.vm_policy = mpol_shared_policy_lookup(&info->policy, index);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment