Commit 061f67bc authored by Rasmus Villemoes's avatar Rasmus Villemoes Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm/page_alloc.c: pull out init code from build_all_zonelists



Pulling the code protected by if (system_state == SYSTEM_BOOTING) into
its own helper allows us to shrink .text a little. This relies on
build_all_zonelists already having a __ref annotation. Add a comment
explaining why so one doesn't have to track it down through git log.

The real saving comes in 3/5, ("mm/mm_init.c: Mark mminit_verify_zonelist
as __init"), where we save about 400 bytes
Signed-off-by: default avatarRasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Vishnu Pratap Singh <vishnu.ps@samsung.com>
Cc: Pintu Kumar <pintu.k@samsung.com>
Cc: Michal Nazarewicz <mina86@mina86.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Li Zefan <lizefan@huawei.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent fc5199d1
......@@ -3871,18 +3871,29 @@ static int __build_all_zonelists(void *data)
return 0;
}
static noinline void __init
build_all_zonelists_init(void)
{
__build_all_zonelists(NULL);
mminit_verify_zonelist();
cpuset_init_current_mems_allowed();
}
/*
* Called with zonelists_mutex held always
* unless system_state == SYSTEM_BOOTING.
*
* __ref due to (1) call of __meminit annotated setup_zone_pageset
* [we're only called with non-NULL zone through __meminit paths] and
* (2) call of __init annotated helper build_all_zonelists_init
* [protected by SYSTEM_BOOTING].
*/
void __ref build_all_zonelists(pg_data_t *pgdat, struct zone *zone)
{
set_zonelist_order();
if (system_state == SYSTEM_BOOTING) {
__build_all_zonelists(NULL);
mminit_verify_zonelist();
cpuset_init_current_mems_allowed();
build_all_zonelists_init();
} else {
#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
if (zone)
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment