Commit 02057967 authored by David Rientjes's avatar David Rientjes Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm, hugetlb: abort __get_user_pages if current has been oom killed

If __get_user_pages() is faulting a significant number of hugetlb pages,
usually as the result of mmap(MAP_LOCKED), it can potentially allocate a
very large amount of memory.

If the process has been oom killed, this will cause a lot of memory to
potentially deplete memory reserves.

In the same way that commit 4779280d ("mm: make get_user_pages()
interruptible") aborted for pending SIGKILLs when faulting non-hugetlb
memory, based on the premise of commit 462e00cc ("oom: stop
allocating user memory if TIF_MEMDIE is set"), hugetlb page faults now
terminate when the process has been oom killed.
Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarGreg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Acked-by: default avatarDavidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Acked-by: default avatar"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 11d83360
......@@ -3277,6 +3277,15 @@ long follow_hugetlb_page(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
int absent;
struct page *page;
/*
* If we have a pending SIGKILL, don't keep faulting pages and
* potentially allocating memory.
*/
if (unlikely(fatal_signal_pending(current))) {
remainder = 0;
break;
}
/*
* Some archs (sparc64, sh*) have multiple pte_ts to
* each hugepage. We have to make sure we get the
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment