• Allan, Bruce W's avatar
    ethtool: allow custom interval for physical identification · fce55922
    Allan, Bruce W authored
    
    
    When physical identification of an adapter is done by toggling the
    mechanism on and off through software utilizing the set_phys_id operation,
    it is done with a fixed duration for both on and off states.  Some drivers
    may want to set a custom duration for the on/off intervals.  This patch
    changes the API so the return code from the driver's entry point when it
    is called with ETHTOOL_ID_ACTIVE can specify the frequency at which to
    cycle the on/off states, and updates the drivers that have already been
    converted to use the new set_phys_id and use the synchronous method for
    identifying an adapter.
    
    The physical identification frequency set in the updated drivers is based
    on how it was done prior to the introduction of set_phys_id.
    
    Compile tested only.  Also fixes a compiler warning in sfc.
    
    v2: drivers do not return -EINVAL for ETHOOL_ID_ACTIVE
    v3: fold patchset into single patch and cleanup per Ben's feedback
    Signed-off-by: default avatarBruce Allan <bruce.w.allan@intel.com>
    Cc: Ben Hutchings <bhutchings@solarflare.com>
    Cc: Sathya Perla <sathya.perla@emulex.com>
    Cc: Subbu Seetharaman <subbu.seetharaman@emulex.com>
    Cc: Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@emulex.com>
    Cc: Michael Chan <mchan@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Eilon Greenstein <eilong@broadcom.com>
    Cc: Divy Le Ray <divy@chelsio.com>
    Cc: Don Fry <pcnet32@frontier.com>
    Cc: Jon Mason <jdmason@kudzu.us>
    Cc: Solarflare linux maintainers <linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com>
    Cc: Steve Hodgson <shodgson@solarflare.com>
    Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Matt Carlson <mcarlson@broadcom.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarJon Mason <jdmason@kudzu.us>
    Acked-by: default avatarBen Hutchings <bhutchings@solarflare.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
    fce55922