• Tony Lindgren's avatar
    ARM: OMAP: Move plat-omap/dma-omap.h to include/linux/omap-dma.h · 45c3eb7d
    Tony Lindgren authored
    Based on earlier discussions[1] we attempted to find a suitable
    location for the omap DMA header in commit 2b6c4e73 (ARM: OMAP:
    DMA: Move plat/dma.h to plat-omap/dma-omap.h) until the conversion
    to dmaengine is complete.
    
    Unfortunately that was before I was able to try to test compile
    of the ARM multiplatform builds for omap2+, and the end result
    was not very good.
    
    So I'm creating yet another all over the place patch to cut the
    last dependency for building omap2+ for ARM multiplatform. After
    this, we have finally removed the driver dependencies to the
    arch/arm code, except for few drivers that are being worked on.
    
    The other option was to make the <plat-omap/dma-omap.h> path
    to work, but we'd have to add some new header directory to for
    multiplatform builds.
    
    Or we would have to manually include arch/arm/plat-omap/include
    again from arch/arm/Makefile for omap2+.
    
    Neither of these alternatives sound appealing as they will
    likely lead addition of various other headers exposed to the
    drivers, which we want to avoid for the multiplatform kernels.
    
    Since we already have a minimal include/linux/omap-dma.h,
    let's just use that instead and add a note to it to not
    use the custom omap DMA functions any longer where possible.
    
    Note that converting omap DMA to dmaengine depends on
    dmaengine supporting automatically incrementing the FIFO
    address at the device end, and converting all the remaining
    legacy drivers. So it's going to be few more merge windows.
    
    [1] https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/1519591/#
    
    
    
    cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
    cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>
    cc: "Benoît Cousson" <b-cousson@ti.com>
    cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
    cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    cc: Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@intel.com>
    cc: Dan Williams <djbw@fb.com>
    cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
    cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
    cc: Guennadi Liakhovetski <g.liakhovetski@gmx.de>
    cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
    cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
    cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
    cc: Florian Tobias Schandinat <FlorianSchandinat@gmx.de>
    cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
    cc: Vaibhav Hiremath <hvaibhav@ti.com>
    cc: Lokesh Vutla <lokeshvutla@ti.com>
    cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
    cc: Artem Bityutskiy <artem.bityutskiy@linux.intel.com>
    cc: Afzal Mohammed <afzal@ti.com>
    cc: linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org
    cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
    cc: linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org
    cc: linux-usb@vger.kernel.org
    cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
    Acked-by: default avatarFelipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarTony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
    45c3eb7d
board-rx51-peripherals.c 32.8 KB