• Frederic Weisbecker's avatar
    watchdog: Rename confusing state variable · 3c00ea82
    Frederic Weisbecker authored
    We have two very conflicting state variable names in the
    watchdog:
    
    * watchdog_enabled: This one reflects the user interface. It's
    set to 1 by default and can be overriden with boot options
    or sysctl/procfs interface.
    
    * watchdog_disabled: This is the internal toggle state that
    tells if watchdog threads, timers and NMI events are currently
    running or not. This state mostly depends on the user settings.
    It's a convenient state latch.
    
    Now we really need to find clearer names because those
    are just too confusing to encourage deep review.
    
    watchdog_enabled now becomes watchdog_user_enabled to reflect
    its purpose as an interface.
    
    watchdog_disabled becomes watchdog_running to suggest its
    role as a pure internal state.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Anish Singh <anish198519851985@gmail.com>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
    Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
    3c00ea82
watchdog.c 14.2 KB