• Vladimir Davydov's avatar
    slab: add SLAB_ACCOUNT flag · 230e9fc2
    Vladimir Davydov authored
    Currently, if we want to account all objects of a particular kmem cache,
    we have to pass __GFP_ACCOUNT to each kmem_cache_alloc call, which is
    inconvenient.  This patch introduces SLAB_ACCOUNT flag which if passed
    to kmem_cache_create will force accounting for every allocation from
    this cache even if __GFP_ACCOUNT is not passed.
    
    This patch does not make any of the existing caches use this flag - it
    will be done later in the series.
    
    Note, a cache with SLAB_ACCOUNT cannot be merged with a cache w/o
    SLAB_ACCOUNT, because merged caches share the same kmem_cache struct and
    hence cannot have different sets of SLAB_* flags.  Thus using this flag
    will probably reduce the number of merged slabs even if kmem accounting
    is not used (only compiled in).
    Signed-off-by: default avatarVladimir Davydov <vdavydov@virtuozzo.com>
    Suggested-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
    Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
    Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
    Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    230e9fc2
memcontrol.h 21.6 KB