• Andrew Morton's avatar
    add upper-32-bits macro · 218e180e
    Andrew Morton authored
    
    
    We keep on getting "right shift count >= width of type" warnings when doing
    things like
    
    	sector_t s;
    
    	x = s >> 56;
    
    because with CONFIG_LBD=n, s is only 32-bit.  Similar problems can occur with
    dma_addr_t's.
    
    So add a simple wrapper function which code can use to avoid this warning.
    The above example would become
    
    	x = upper_32_bits(s) >> 24;
    
    The first user is in fact AFS.
    
    Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@SteelEye.com>
    Cc: "Cameron, Steve" <Steve.Cameron@hp.com>
    Cc: "Miller, Mike (OS Dev)" <Mike.Miller@hp.com>
    Cc: Hisashi Hifumi <hifumi.hisashi@oss.ntt.co.jp>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    218e180e
kernel.h 11.1 KB