• Vladimir Davydov's avatar
    Revert "gfp: add __GFP_NOACCOUNT" · 20b5c303
    Vladimir Davydov authored
    This reverts commit 8f4fc071 ("gfp: add __GFP_NOACCOUNT").
    
    Black-list kmem accounting policy (aka __GFP_NOACCOUNT) turned out to be
    fragile and difficult to maintain, because there seem to be many more
    allocations that should not be accounted than those that should be.
    Besides, false accounting an allocation might result in much worse
    consequences than not accounting at all, namely increased memory
    consumption due to pinned dead kmem caches.
    
    So it was decided to switch to the white-list policy.  This patch
    reverts bits introducing the black-list policy.  The white-list policy
    will be introduced later in the series.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarVladimir Davydov <vdavydov@virtuozzo.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
    Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
    Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
    Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
    Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    20b5c303
gfp.h 20.4 KB